cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

How to pass Query Parameters in Neo4j Spark Connector

As per official guide graph can be integrated with spark directly to read and write data. I see few options like 'query', 'labels', 'relationship' etc to query a graph.

Is there a way to provide query parameters to a custom query?

var query = " MATCH (account:Account ) " +
      " where account.appId in ['App 1', 'App 2'] " + **//PARAMETERIZE THIS INPUT**
      " return account ";

PFA for complete class.
Neo4jConnectorSpec.scala.txt (886 Bytes)

4 REPLIES 4

I have zero experience with this, but I reviewed the link you provided. In the 'script option' section within the 'custom cypher query' section, it describes setting a 'script' option before your 'query' option. the results of the script will be passed on to the query. The example shows a script returning a literal value set to 'val', which is then referenced in the 'query' using scriptResult[0].val. I am guessing the '0' index refers to the zeroth script result. In this case there is only one script executed. I assume each subsequent one may be accessed with an increasing index. If this is a correct assumption, you could get your parameters into the query by returning them in a script and then referencing them in your query with the scriptResult object.

This does seem like are convoluted way to make it work.

@glilienfield Thank you for the response, Can you also share an example for Array/List type of return value?

I tried parameterising List of string but there is no direct way to pass list as is. We need to generate a STRING as script option also accepts STRING.
- But then we can simply update the 'query' and append list

//.option("script", "RETURN " + appIds + " AS val") // how to parameterise list?
        .option("script", "RETURN ['App 1', 'App 2'] AS val")