cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

GraphQL query returning list of objects

Hello,
In the schema.graphql file, I'd like to define a type Query that returns a String with a list of Objects.
Let's say I have a query defined as below, how should I set the return type [String, listofConnections ] ?

type Query {
myQuery(id: Int): [String, listofConnections ] @cypher(statement: "Match (u:User.... WHERE id(u)=$id RETURN u.name AS name, collect(id(connection)) AS connections")
}

Thanks in advance for any help.

6 REPLIES 6

intouch_vivek
Graph Steward

Hi @Eclipsetalk,

although I have no good knowledge of graphql, however I see that there is some issue in the cypher query. Can you give a try with below change:
statement: "Match (u:User{id(u):$id}) -[.... With u.name AS name, collect(id(connection)) AS connections RETURN u.name , connections")

Thanks for thew reply - The question is not about the cypher query. I didn't state it entirely. My problem is how to return a custom type like an array of list in a GraphQL query.
Thanks

MuddyBootsCode
Graph Steward

You're not going to be able to return two separate things from your cypher query like that with GraphQL. You can return a JSON like object back if you like but you can only return a single scalar type, schema type, or object back from the query. It may be possible to use a Union of some sort but I haven't seen that use case.

Ok I see - Thanks for the reply

Hi Eric,

There is no conception of tuples in GraphQL type system. There are JSON-like "object" types, whose elements can be scalars or other (nested) JSON-like object types, and these can either be singular or multiple (lists of types or scalars).

You can absolutely return something akin to atuple, you just define a type with two fields:

type X {
  a String
  b [OtherType]
}