cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Head's Up! These forums are read-only. All users and content have migrated. Please join us at community.neo4j.com.

Auto-generated Mutation Does Not Create Relationship

Hello,

I want to test auto-generated CRUD operations created by calling makeAugmentedSchema. There is no problem with creating nodes but creating relationship does not work for me. Please advise on what I am doing wrong here.

Schema:

type Bio{
    id: ID!
    description: String
}

type Person{
    name: String
    dob: Date
    bioRelation: [Bio] @relation(name: "HAS_BIO", direction: "OUT")
}

Mutation:

mutation {
 	p: CreatePerson(
    	name: "Anton",
    name
  }
 	b: CreateBio(
    	description: "I am a developer") {
    description
		id
  }
  r: AddPersonBioRelation(
    to:{id: "b"}
  ){
    from{
      name
    }
    to{
      description
    }
  }
}

I am following the Interface Mutations guidance https://grandstack.io/docs/graphql-interface-union-types.

I get Person and Bio nodes created but no relationship gets created between the two:

{
  "data": {
    "p": {
      "name": "Anton",
      "gender": "Male",
      "id": "586b63fd-f9a5-4274-890f-26ba567c065c"
    },
    "b": {
      "description": "I am a developer",
      "id": "a46b4c22-d23b-4630-ac84-9d6248bdda89"
    },
    "r": null
  }
}

Thank you

19 REPLIES 19

This is how AddPersonBioRelation looks like:

MuddyBootsCode
Graph Steward

You're not able to do the addRelationship mutation in conjunction with node creation mutations. You have to do is separately or create a custom cypher mutation that performs the operation in one go.

Thank you for helping, @MuddyBootsCode!

As I see, neo4j-graphql.js developers claim that it is possible to do the addRelationship mutation in conjunction with node creation mutations: https://grandstack.io/docs/graphql-interface-union-types.